Founded by the Society of Jesus in 1896, Campion Hall is one of six Permanent Private Halls at the University of Oxford. The Hall opened originally for the benefit of Jesuit undergraduates, but is now home to a thriving international community of graduate students, Fellows, and staff from diverse backgrounds and faiths.
The Library has been integral to its life and scholarly activity since the Hall’s foundation in 1896. It enjoys a privileged location within the Lutyens designed building. The Library Collection serves the Students and Fellows of the Hall and makes a distinctive contribution to the Libraries in the University. Its Collection mainly consists of Arts subjects, and it is especially strong in Modern Catholic Theology, Integral Ecology, and Jesuit studies.
A landmark enhancement to the holdings of the library came at the end of the academic year 2017/2018 with the closure of Heythrop College, whose rare books it was decided should come to Campion Hall. Included among them is an edition of the Summa Theologiae of Thomas Aquinas, unique due to Edmund Campion’s annotations, volume one of which was selected as the first item from Campion Hall’s collection to be digitized.